Diplomatic Missions

In its role as the National Capital of Australia, Canberra hosts over 80 diplomatic missions from around the world. Many countries have diplomatic representation in Canberra to facilitate relationships between their governments and the Australian Government. Some missions are called ‘Embassies’, but if the countries represented belong to the Commonwealth they are known as ‘High Commissions’. The activities carried out by diplomats relate to trade, information, cultural affairs, defence and immigration. The majority of diplomatic missions are situated in the suburbs of Yarralumla, Deakin and O’Malley.

For more information about the diplomatic missions in Canberra visit www.nationalcapital.gov.au 

Suburbs of Yarralumla, Deakin and O'Malley
< Back